AGM 2018 – Toronto, ON

AGM 2018 - Toronto, ON

AGM 2018 was held on November 19th-20th 2018, at the Chestnut Residence and Conference Center in the heart of Toronto, Ontario.

The theme for the meeting was “Prepare for Success—Things to Master Now for Clinician Scientists in Training”; with lectures and workshops that were designed to provide knowledge and hands-on skills to navigate life as a clinician investigator. The opening remarks were by Jason Berman (President of CSCI), Josh Abraham (President of CITAC/ACCFC) and Nicola Jones (University of Toronto Clinician Investigator Symposium Chair). The keynote speakers were Dr. Ruth Ann Marrie (University of Manitoba), who received the Distinguished Scientist Award, Dr. Davinder Jassal (University of Manitoba), who received the CSCI-RCPSC Henry Friesen Award, and Dr. Aleixo Muise (University of Toronto), who received the Joe Doupe Young Investigator Award. Dr. Minna Woo (University of Toronto), Canada Research Chair in Diabetes Signal Transduction, delivered the keynote lecture “From Onion Cells to Single Cell Seq—A Constant Change in Lenses: A perspective of an evolving clinician scientist”.

meetings image